Tags

, , , , , , ,

I love photography.
I’m a sucker for Black and whites.
I love capturing people more than a lot of things right now.
I constantly dream about my someday house and a little studio inside.

But, the hardest thing for me to capture, anyone for that matter- myself.

I have a lot of photographer friends who set out to reclaim their individualism- to capture themselves. I loved their work, but always had an excuse for my own. I didn’t have the right gear, I didn’t have a trigger, I didn’t have a good backdrop, the list went onward. Inside, it was just all me. Like humans, we struggle with something.
For me, I hate the few extra pounds that never seem to fade, the pesky scale that tends to haunt worse than a bad dream, and the jeans that don’t seem to fit right, but I press on.

As a Photographer, we live for capturing precious moments, but hesitate at getting in front of the camera for ourselves when we turn gray, for our families and children to hold onto us.

When I started my 365 project, I never knew it would challenge me at my own self-portraits. I never knew how uncomfortable it was to try to capture myself.

It kinda changed when I heard a photographer by the name of Sue Bryce. I began to watch her videos on posing, and lighting. I fell in love with her, like so many others do. As I began to watch her, and listen to everything she said, I found myself practicing more; the poses, the gracefulness, just wanting to be more like so many I aspire to be.

So, with my date for my 365 Self-portrait, I sucked it up and just went outside. My hair was greasy and my makeup barely existent.

Afterwards and reviewing, I cried to my husband about how terrible I looked.
It’s so disheartening sometimes.

I decided to give myself a chance.
With a little magic, I fell in love.
My husband calls me a hippy with my hair, but I’m a mermaid at heart.

So, remember…

 Your husband doesn’t mind your greasy hair, and scarred skin.
Your children don’t mind the extra pounds.

Give them something to hold on to forever- a photograph.

SEV_1924.jpg

 

 

 

 

SEV_1942

 

 

 

SEV_1943

 

SEV_1949