Tags

, , , , , ,

A Day in the life with the Chew Family.

I put out a model call a few weeks back, but hadn’t heard too much. I was starting to get a little stir crazy with not shooting besides things around my home. I reached out to a friend of mine who suggested her family who lived in the country. They had a farm, and before I even called, I was excited.

Now, with Oklahoma weather, it is always hard to plan sessions. We scheduled for a Sunday afternoon since it was “Chore Day.”  On our way out there and  with my friend as a guide, it became stormy. Oh, I was praying hard for the sun to give me a little something to work with for a few hours. My friend’s family owns about 100+ acres in Chandler, Oklahoma, just to see all the green grass from the previous week’s worth of rain couldn’t have made for a better scene. With my rain boots on provided from my friend, we were ready for our adventure.

chew_177

We started out with feeding the cows, Gabe was pretty excited to show me how they do it down on the farm.

chew_171

And the cows loved him too. They could hardly wait to chow down on their dinner, and even caused Gabe to drop his bucket. He just laughed and with a little help was back to getting more feed.

chew_6chew_9

If I had ever seen a 4 year old that loved to help and show how it’s done, it was this guy. In between watering the cattle and sifting their water, he managed to pick a few flowers for his mama.

chew_4chew_2

This little one loved his mama, we could barely break him away, but he was the best baby I had ever met. You didn’t even hear a peep out of him the entire time.

Next, the chickens!

Gabe was pretty excited for me to meet Solomon, the rooster. Although Solomon was a little noisy with trying to protect his hens, he was happy to get fed. The hens even let Gabe chase them for a little bit.

chew_47chew_51chew_60chew_53chew_68

Fresh eggs. I hadn’t seen so many eggs, 30 to be exact. Those hens stay busy.

Onward on our adventure. The sun was peeking through and matched with big puffy clouds, set a dream scene. They had a field of Lamb’s ear and grass, so naturally, we had to capture it.

We had a brief pause in our session, but then he was back to his happy go-lucky self.chew_20Mama was even kind enough to show me her bag garden. It’s super low-key. You plant your flowers or vegetables in the soil bags and when seedlings break through, BAM! you’re ready to plant. Cuts down on time and headache.

 

chew_304

To the field we went, and with a quilt they laid, until we went opossum hunting. Who knew that they dug pretty deep holes? Afterwards, giggles, and lots of them. From playing under the blanket, to pulling dad’s hair, these boys had a blast.chew_277chew_278 copychew_279

You cannot Photoshop these skies, it was absolutely gorgeous. And with man’s best friend by his side, Gabe was ready to conquer the world. chew_206chew_395

Oh baby Eli, your lashes were so long, and stood still long enough to catch a glimpse of them.chew_328

Oh how this Eli loved to play in the grass.

Black and white are my favorite thing to capture, I had to edit a few. These boys were so well-mannered.chew_97After we were “done.” I had promised Gabe that he could splash around in the mud. Oklahoma doesn’t have just plain ‘ol mud, we have red clay. Nonetheless, it made for epic puddles.chew_128

chew_146chew_147chew_148

Thank you so much for allowing me into your family and capturing a glimpse of your life. I’m sure I’ll be seeing you again!

Xoxo,

Sarah